6 Things You Didn’t Know About the Song ‘God Bless America’

god-blessEvery time I hear this song, my eyes tear up as they did the first time I ever heard it. World War 2 was a time that affected every American, both with loyalty and love for our country, and sadness as the Gold Stars went up on a front window of families in our neighborhoods and across the country messaging that this family had lost someone near and dear forever. Some families had more than one gold star. Sons, fathers, brothers, uncles. Later, well I’ll save that for some …of the stories I will tell you each evening for a while.

Many of you lived through all this too, and will recognize some of the things I may talk about. For others, you will want to know how it was way back in the 30’s and 40’s. Some of what I tell you would not necessarily have been known to the rest of the country. Some you may have forgotten.

I lived in a coastal city which made a lot of things different for us. But I will try to give you a feel for something really big at the time. This one song, sung by Kate Smith but written by Irving Berlin seemed to fit the situation we were living in. It touched our hearts. It kind of bound us all together. I’m posting this below, so you may hear the song, and read six things of how this song came to be written. I believe it will touch a core in all of you alive at that time, as many of my cousins were.

Read and hear more here: http://parade.condenast.com/60998/parade/6-things-you-didnt-know-about-the-song-god-bless-america/

Goodnight. Sleep well. May tomorrow be blessed by our God. May you keep sunshine in your hearts. Hugs and love to you all.

About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in America, Music, Musings (not book). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

