The Completion of the story of Uncle Randolph Scott and his daughter.

Mable Claire moved to Harlingen, Tx. in the Rio Grande Valley.  She taught school there and was very much loved by her students, their parents, and her co-workers.  People were eager to tell me about her.  She got cancer and was very ill.  The doctors couldn’t help her.  But she did not want to give up teaching.  So the Principal had a comfy rocking chair placed in the classroom so she could continue.

In the meantime back in Memphis, Uncle Randolph lost all of his wealth.  He moved to Harlingen to be with her.  When she passed away, he bought lots in a cemetery that was located in La Feria, Tx. along the valley highway.  Later he also died and was buried there.

Then in 1980, Jim and I moved to the Valley, learned the story and found their lots.  We purchased two lots next to them thinking we would be in the Valley the rest of our lives.  Mom came to visit and between us we purchased a special vase that was planted between their lots.  I kept flowers in that vase until we moved away.  We still own our lots but do not intend to use them as we have made other arrangements up here so our kids won’t have to later. 

Mom had fond memories of her year with Uncle Randolph in Memphis.  And because they were family we did the best we could.  Wish we could have visited with them again.  They were people to be proud of.  (Unfortunately they were all heavy smokers.)

About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Family, Geneology, Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Completion of the story of Uncle Randolph Scott and his daughter.

  1. Beth Marie says:

    I love old family stories!
    I hope you are doing well Bertie!
    Hugs,
    Beth

  2. Suz says:

    Came across this while searching the internet for “Randolph Scott” a man that owned a cotton business in or near Harlingen, Texas. A friend who just passed away, told me that this man was her father. I did a search long ago, but didn’t come across this blog. I did happen across a biography of a man who worked for a Randolph Scott in Harlingen. I’d like to talk to you, to see if there was a connection. I can be reached at my email and if you email me, I’ll give you my contact information. Thanks so much for your time.

Leave a Reply

