Why I call myself “Beach Gal Bertie”

My Pacific BeachPacific Beach, Ca.3My Ocean PB 2PB

Pacific Beach, Ca.  This is where I lived, breathed, loved, grew, and played for the first 22 years of my life.  It was beautiful.  Though we lived less than a mile away, we often drove down in the evening to watch the waves roll in, and breathe that soothing salty air of the sea, with its negative, feel good, ions.

Chrystal Pier in the second photo is where my brother, Ellis, and I learned to fish.  We were seated by our parents out close to the end of the pier with our small child sized rods and reels and reeled in small Bass and Perch.  Dad and Mom fished close by but a little further out on the pier.  We were 5 and 4 years old when we started.  We learned to identify Sting Rays, and Skates, and Sharks, and other sea life, as other people brought them in.

Pacific Beach Ca.1Pacific Beach, Ca.2

Chrystal Pier built the new entrance (pictured above) and some rental bungalow in the later 1930’s.  The above shows a more northern part of my beach looking toward La Jolla (where I went to High school in the latter 1940’s).  This is about where my grandmother, Della Pendergrass Dugger, in the later 30’s, used to walk to with my brother, two cousins, Elin and Jean Forsnas, and I, then climb down to the beach and picnic or just play there.  The plants on the side of the hill were called Ice Plants and had pretty flowers and a unique kind of leaves that look like a small Aloe Vera in that the insides were soft and had liquid there.

MY OceanSo. Calif.4

I loved to jump waves when I was young, but this was before surfboards which made it unsafe.  Anyway This is why I so love my Pacific Ocean.  This is why I call myself, Beach Gal Bertie

About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I call myself “Beach Gal Bertie”

  1. Beth Marie says:

    i really enjoyed this post Bertie. Fnding out more about you and the love surroundings you grew up in. The pictures are beautiful!

  2. Beth Marie says:

    Sorry for the mistakes in my comment Bertie. Please correct them as you are reading. 😉

Leave a Reply

