Musical Memories

Doris Day singing, “Que Sera Sera”

 

Music has always played an important role in my life.  Music from my parent’s era like Jeannette Mac Donald and Nelson Eddy were favorites.  As a teenager, when I was alone, I used to sing Agnos Dei, and The Lord’s prayer, with Jeanette on her record, to try to sound like her beautiful soprano voice.

As a teenager, I loved the music of our time, the 40’s and 50’s.  When Jim and I were separated for a year before we were married, one of our songs was, “ ’Til I waltz Again with you” sung by Teresa Brewer.  I liked Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Rosemary Clooney, Tennessee Ernie Ford, as well as Doris Day, and many more.

I loved all the musicals too.  As a family, my Dad, Mom, my brother and I used to go to the outdoor Starlight opera in Balboa Park in San Diego.  The Desert Song, Student Prince, New Moon, and many others were presented in the summer every year.  These are sweet memories.

Doris Day was one of my favorite contemporary singers.  A first date with a fellow I really liked was for the movie “Tea For Two”.  Just before our marriage, Jim and I saw the movie“Pillow Talk”.  I loved the lyrics of “Que Sera”, a song that is associated with her..

I also appreciated that with all of her success, she spent her life caring about animals. 

Doris’s songs were always light hearted and “feel good” songs.  I hope you enjoy this rendition.

About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Memories, Music, YouTube and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Musical Memories

  1. Beth Marie says:

    Doris Day is one of my favorites. I have all of her movies on DVD and several of her CDs.

Leave a Reply

