Once again joy of finding missing persons in my life

I joined Facebook at the recommendation of my son, Jim Jr.  DH kept saying it was dangerous.  So I make sure I only accept people I know as friends.  My experience has been wonderful.  I hope if it is dangerous, they will get that part fixed because there can be so much more contact with people on a daily basis.
 
First I found three lost granddaughters and their mom.  That was wonderful for me.  I got to catch up with them in their college experiences.  One wants to come and visit me for spring break next year.  I hope she does.
 
Next I found many friends all over the world that I have known for years on the catsnquilts site.  It even has pictures so we can see what our long time friends look like. (I refrained from saying "old friends" )
 
Then I found some dear church friends and we can talk about our interests and concerns.  Even our Pastor joined but he doesn’t write much.
 
Next I found some dear friends from years ago.
 
And now I have been finding cousins that I knew when I was growing up, but lost as they married. changed their name and moved to different places.  We were all busy as young adults, raising our children and assuming our new roles in life.  I kept up with the aunts and uncles and we shared the same grandfather and Grandma.  It is so much fun to find them and see their pictures.  Now we have a lot of catching up to do.  It just warms my heart.
 
My only regret was losing one friend, Beth, because Facebook thought she had a virus.  But I see I have her address in my email, so I can keep in touch through that.
 
I’d say Facebook has been a blessing to me and many of us love it.  I just hope we don’t have any problems by sticking with people we know.  This isn’t a great writing, but it is something I really appreciate.  We are long past sitting around a radio at night for news or a comedy like, Fibber Magee and Molly.  The Great Gildersleve, George and Gracie, or the Inter Sanctom Mysteries.  How fast our world is changing.  It is mind boggling now.  What will the future bring?
 
 
About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Once again joy of finding missing persons in my life

  1. Beth says:

    Bertie, that is what I liked about facebook too; the finding of family and friends. Be cautious on there and if you have any suspicious popups you have a virus. I hope you are having a great weekend!

  2. Grandma's says:

    Hi Bertie…I\’m a friend of Beth Marie\’s here on Windows Live….I also miss her on Facebook. I seem to spend a lot of time on Facebook and have yet to run into any problems. Most viruses that I have ever gotten seem to come in through E-mail. So, if you use caution and wisdom…as you are doing…yes Facebook can be a real blessing. I, too, have found long lost friends and relatives and the wonderful thing is we can communicate with no long distance phone bills and even see and share pictures.If anything suspicious does pop up…run your virus scanner just to make sure your computer is not infected. So far I have had no need to do that….and am hoping that Beth Marie returns to Facebook…I miss her there.Blessings to you~Karin~

  3. JaAG says:

    What is safe today may be dangerous tomorrow. I just keep thinking about the people who warned us that those damned horseless carriages were soooo dangerous. And they were right. :o)

Leave a Reply

