Ah Trees

I think that I shall never see, a poem lovely as a tree. A tree whose hungry mouth is prest, against the earth’s sweet flowing breast.  A tree that looks at God all day. and lifts her leafy arms to pray.  A tree that may in summer wear, a nest of robins in her hair.  Upon whose bosom snow has lain,who intimately lives with rain.  Poems are made by fools like me, but only God can make a tree.
 
This poem by Joyce Kilmer, has always been a favorite of mine.  Had I written it, I think I would have used a different word for "fools".  However when I was an English major in college we were told that this is the worst poem ever written.  How can that be when this poem speaks to peoples hearts and always makes you think of a peaceful place.  Here in Washington, everywhere we drive there are beautiful trees of all kinds everywhere.  Every March we get blossoms on Japanese Cherry trees.  All year around there are all the evergreens in abundance, all kinds.  There are Firs, Pines, Yews, Cyprus, and many others.  Then there are Oaks, Maples, etc.  We never get used to them.  They are a thing of beauty everywhere, and all of the time.  I am always reminded of this beautiful poem.
 
I respectfully protest that this is the worst poem ever written, but it is probably one of the best and speaks to the heart of us all.
 
 
About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Literary Interests. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ah Trees

  1. Beth says:

    I have always liked this poem. I have to agree with you.

  2. katherine says:

    I totally agree Bertie!!

Leave a Reply

