A day in the life, and a holiday coming.

It has been a while since I wrote.  We kind of got swept up in small groups at church since Jim is an ordained minister a few friends want him to come to theirs.  I have to admit I find his knowledge interesting too.  Well we finished one and got one set aside until after the new year so now there are just two a week.  Choir was cancelled for tomorrow night, Thanksgiving, and the choir director kept reminding us not to come. LOL.
 
My daughter sent me a lovely 4 ft christmas tree with lights.  It just plain makes me feel good.  The lights are multicolored.  The last couple of years I didn’t have one and I really missed it.  I have set up a Pandora station with Christmas music so I can really enjoy that.
 
Today we took our Grandson Drew to lunch and to Borders where we each bought a book.  We were going to the library but then remembered it is closed for remodeling. That is always special to have time with a grandchild.  Drew will be twelve on Monday.  When he was born I went to Illinois when he was born.  They live here now.  Hi seven year old sister went with her Mom for a pedicure and manicure.  That must have been very special for her.
 
The book I bought was Dewey, the library cat.  It has become very popular all overe the country and in other countries.  It is a true story of a kitten that someone dumped down a book return slot on the coldest night of the year.  Almost everyone I know that read it has cried at least once and some more, even my brother.  They say it is such a beautiful story.  I read 62 pages when we got home.  There’s a lot about northwestern Iowa and history in the book too.
 
Tomorrow we will have Thanksgiving with Jim Jr. and Suzy.  My nephew will come over when he gets off work.  And one of my other sons wants to come by and see us if he can work it around his wife’s plans which he didn’t know about.  Jim, Suzy and I have a Scrabble game each holiday and it is so much fun.  We’ll have one tomorrow and then again on Christmas.
 
Happy Thanksgiving to all who read this.  May you be surrounded with love.
About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A day in the life, and a holiday coming.

  1. JoAnn says:

    You can\’t beat lunch with a grandchild!  Enjoy your Thanksgiving, Bertie.  Don\’t each too much..  Hugs

  2. Beth says:

    I would so enjoy having a grandchild to have lunch with.  Sounds like you had a wonderful time.  Enjoy today!

  3. JaAG says:

    The turkey\’s cookin\’, the Christmas music is playing, and the dawgs are both at my feet sleeping. We are looking forward to that annual Scrabble contest. See youse guys soonest.

Leave a Reply

