The sounds of music

I wonder if music brings memories to others as it does to me?  My husband set me up with Pandora and while I work on my computer I can play my favorite songs.  With each one I can mark it as a thumbs up or I don’t like it.  If I like it it will come back from time to time along with other songs they think I will like.
 
Tonight I danced with Larry.  We both were enrolled in a college course in Ballroom dancing.  We were also in the Westminster Foundation too, where many of us ate lunch together and talked or studied together.  Larry is an old man now as I am old too. I have no idea where he is or what his life was like.   But every time I hear, "Getting to know you" I am back in college dancing with Larry. a handsome blond fellow and I too am young again.  It was such a nice feeling.
 
When my husband of 55 years and I were separated for a year while he got his first year of seminary, and I finished my last year of college, we wrote every night. He was in Chicago and I in San Diego.  Our song was "Til I waltz again with you".  Since he was going into the ministry, I kind of thought,"Oh we aint got a barrel of Money" was kind of what might be ahead.  I later decided a little money wouldn’t hurt and not having much maybe wasn’t so romantic after all.
 
When I hear, "Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord", I am back in high school singing with an all city chorus from all the city high schools in San Diego.  It was a mother’s day concert diriected by a Dr. Zimmerman who was a fabulous director.  It was in Presidio Park in San Diego.  I’ll never forget the sound when for the first time we all opened our mouths to sing, and the thrill of the sound of several hundred voices.
 
Once when we were going through a rough patch, my song was,"When you walk through a storm, hold your head up high".  I sang it a lot when I was alone in our home in Muscatine, Iowa, and it gave me courage.  At the end of the storm there was a golden light and the sweet silver song of the Lark.
 
Well this is the extent of my musings for tonight.  I do wonder if others haave these associations with music.
 
 
About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The sounds of music

  1. JoAnn says:

    Great post, Bertie!  You have some great songs and moments in your memory bank.  Thanks for sharing.  Have a blessed day, my friend.  Hugs

  2. JaAG says:

    It\’s funny how some music trigger a memory or an emotion. Then there are those songs that once lodged in the current memory space of your brain just will not go away. Pandora is a real find. I hope that like YouTube it survives.

  3. Deb says:

    Mom, that\’s why I love my music from my generation.  Love, Deb

Leave a Reply

