Ocean Blue

I must go down to the sea again, to the lonely sea and the sky.  And all I ask is a tall ship, and a star to steer her by.  Robert Lewis Stevenson
 
My favorite place on earth is  beside the ocean.  Those negative io0ns make one feel so good.  I listen to the roar of the surf and watch waves break up, and spash as they roll in anround my ankles.  They gently roll back to the sea as another one comes in.  And as the water retreats my feet sink a little more into the sand.  I love the salty smell of the seaside, and the cool gentle breezes.  At night I like to get up and go to the open window and look out into the dark to see far away lights of ships passing on the distant horizon.  It is also fun to sit in the sand and make little sand castles.  Or one can go in the water if it is warm enough and jumjp the waves or swim.  All of this makes my soul soar like a beautiful song.
 
I think of the beaches often.  If I can’t get to sleep at night I imagine standing by the ocean and enjoying all of the above,  In my next life, if there is one, I’d like to live by the sea, but where it would be reasonably safe, (as opposed to huricane or landslide areas.).
 
I have enjoyed the California coast, Seaside, Oregon, Long Beach, and Pacific Beach, and OceanShores, Washington.  I have also been to Orcas Island in the San Juans, and Port Townsend.  Our favorite places since we have lived in Washington are Pacific Beach, and Seaside.
 
So now you know my favorite dream: "by the sea, by the sea, by the beautiful sea," etc.  Try it, you’ll like it too!!!
About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Musings (not book). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ocean Blue

  1. Rambling says:

    Reading that quote from Stevenson took me back to school days.  🙂

  2. JoAnn says:

    I also love the ocean.  It can definitely refresh one\’s soul.  Hugs

  3. Beth says:

    Unfortunately I am stuck here in the middle of a corn field in Illinois where the land is as flat as a pancake.
    I have  always loved Stevenson\’s poems.
    Have a wonderful day Bertie.

  4. Josie says:

    My joy is anywhere outside on a beautiful day.  I feel my spirits lift and rejuvinated.  I don\’t think we were meant to be in the houses all day and inside at work everday.  We were meant to be out and free.

  5. JaAG says:

    But then, some of us always suspected that of you.  ;o)

Leave a Reply

