The fabric of life

The new season began in our church today.  Our choir resumed practice last Thursday night and sang today.  While we were waiting for everyone to be served communion, I suddenly felt as though my father was sitting beside me with my mom next to him and my brother next to her.  It felt good and reminded me of long ago as our family stood together to join the congregation in a hymn.  As a young person who had not met the challenges of life, it was a secure, comfortable time. Though my parents have passed on, they are still so much a part of me.
 
Then my mind went to another time when I sat in church with our five children, and their father was the minister in the pulpet.  This was another happy time that became part of the fabric of my life.  They are all still a part of me and I of them.
 
Next I thought of our thirteen grandchildren whose ages are from 32 down to seven years.  And our three great grandchilren who are 13,  and 4 and 5 months.  I adore all of them and our lives are entertwined. 
 
Along with friends of a lifetime we are all a part of one another’s quilt of life.  Each piece of fabric is separate and beautiful, but a part of the whole.  The quilt would not be complete without all of them.  And together we each have this beautiful piece of art, that is warm, and comfortable.  
About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Memories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The fabric of life

  1. Rambling says:

    Well said, Bertie, and I too have thought of such things though my family is not as large, still it is true that we are all of us a part of the other and that is a warm feeling.

  2. JoAnn says:

    Beautifully written!  It doesn\’t get any better than that warm and comfortable feeling.  Hope you and yours have a wonderful day.  Hugs

  3. Beth says:

    Bertie, this post is beautiful.  What a lovely lady you are.  I like so much reading your posts because they are so upbeat.
    I hope you have a good week.

  4. JaAG says:

    I know Autumn isn\’t officially here for two weeks, but it sure feels like it\’s arrive early to me. I need to put some more pictures of Addie (quilt patches if you will) on my blog. Wendy just posted some more on Facebook.  :o)

Leave a Reply

