One day in the life.

This is for my daughter, Deb, who waqnts me to keep writing.  I miss her and look forward to her upcoming visit in October.
 
Yesterday, her Dad and I babysat two of our grandchildren.  Our Daughter-in-law’s sister in- law had a masectomy.  Relatives were present but everyone wanted to be at the hospital so we stayed with our 11 1/2 year old grandson and 7 1/2 year old granddaughter.  It was a pleasant day wih the children and their new Labrador puppy.  They had begged and pleaded for years and their parents began to use it as a bargaining chip.  I guess the parents finally had to pay up.  Well the puppy had accidents in the house, so we had him on a 30 minute and out the door routine.  It worked.  I asked our son about the crate training and he said it didn’t work with this pup.  He would use the crate for a bathroom and never have an accident on their bed.  Hmmm.  I loved the puppy and he must have known it or else needed a bit of refuge from being carried around by his ribs.  He always wanted to sleep by my feet and when he was asleep I wouldn’t let them wake him.  When he wanted to chew some of the shoes in the entryway, I had DGD get him some leather pieces to chew on.  Then he didn’t need the other items.  (Once when I took him out, he insisted on bringing a stick inside, but I found it had nails in it so removed it from him).  The children had grown a lot this summer.  They’ll be in second, and sixth grades right after labor day. 
 
The surgery started two hours late, but their DSIL came through it very well.  She had radiation first to shrink the lump before she could have surgery.  Now she will start chemo.  How I hope they find a way to stop Breast (or any) cancer.
About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Musings (not book). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One day in the life.

  1. JoAnn says:

    Prayers for your DIL\’s SIL.  Lab puppies are the best.  They are so gently and good with children. Have a great Thursday.  Hugs

  2. JaAG says:

    Thanks for the update mom. Here\’s hoping she\’s home now and the puppy training can continue. Um… I have never heard of a puppy peeing in the crate UNLESS it was ignored too long; something I\’m guessing doesn\’t happen in the bed. Amelia has never dirtied her crate, but then the crate is right next to my bed so that I can hear her at night when she needs to go out. Last night and at ten weeks old, we and Amelia had another 6 hours before taking her out. Life is good when both parents don\’t work.

  3. Beth says:

    Good morning Bertie,
    Good luck to your daughter in law\’s relative.  I have a niece in remission from breast cancer.  It is an awful thing, this cancer!  I will send good thoughts and prayers to them.
    I think Grandma, that if you were with the puppy for a couple of weeks  that you would have him trained.
    I want you to keep writing too as I really enjoy your posts.
    Have a great day!

  4. Rambling says:

    The very very best to her, Bertie.  Cancer is such an awful and frightening thing.  I too will send good thoughts and prayers to her.

  5. Patricia says:

    I enjoyed reading about your adventure with the puppy…and, it\’s been a pleasure visiting with you this evening…

Leave a Reply

