What’s in a name?

My full name is Bertha Nell Dugger Glass.  As a hurricane I have outlasted all the others in history according to tonight’s news.  My brother wrote a few days ago that I was moving fast for an old broad.  I was named after my Mom’s mother who died when Mom was four.  She was Bertha.  Then my Dad’s maiden sister was Nellie, hence the Nell.  But Mom was from Arkansas, and southern girls had to use both names.  So to family, I was always Bertha Nell, and I was called that through elemenary school.  I didn’t like it.  So in Junior High and High School my friends called me Bertha.  (A second grade teacher tried to nickname me Binky, but thank heaven that didn’t stick.)  By college, my friends called me Bert.  That sounded too masculine to me but there didn’t seem to be many options.  After I was married and moved away, whenever I got a long distance phone call I could always figure approximently who was calling, by what they called me.  If they asked for Bertha Nell it was family.  If they asked for Bertha it was high school friends.  If they addressed me as Bert it was college friends.  But after I moved to Texas a friend started calling me Bertie.  And then others did too.  That felt comfortable.  Part of my problem with the Bertha part was that Hollywood used it for frumpy maids or a cow, the government used it for a cannon, and golfers had a putter nemed Big Bertha.  Now I’m a hurricane (actually this is the third time I’ve been a hurricane) but at least with that I can have some control over my storminess.  So This is the stoy of a name’s journey through life.
About Bertie

Retired and luvin' it.
This entry was posted in Musings (not book). Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s in a name?

  1. JoAnn says:

    Can\’t remember who said it, probably some comedian, "You can call me anything.  Just don\’t call me late for supper."  LOL 

  2. Beth says:

    I think your name is as beautiful as you are!!

  3. Rambling says:

    I have always loved the nickname Bertie somehow.  Bert for short.  🙂  You ARE a Hurricane this year, aren\’t you?  I\’m not sure if I am or not.  I shall have to pay attention. 

  4. sunee says:

       I love the name "Bertie"…as it is my Mother\’s name, not short for anything..just Bertie, and she was named after her mother too..!!

Leave a Reply

